Dealing with the incarceration or impending incarceration of a loved one in Santa Clara County

9;Hi Everyone,

I created this blog to share my experiece in deaing with a loved one who was recently incarcerated in Santa Clara county at Elmwood Minimum Camp jail. First, my heart goes out to all of those who have someone that you care about locked away. This site is not to judge but to help and be a support to those who might being going through the same ordeal and share what I learned. I know first hand on countless hours to the sherriffs office and checking online for updates that navigating through the DOC system can be a stressful maze.

Briefly, I want to share my story so that you have an actual account of someone on the outside is going through when your bf is going to jail. My bf turned had scheduled to rimand himself over on a Wednesday at 9:00 am. He was held at the main jail house south until Friday. It took 2 days to transfer him to Elmwood where he would be serving a 5 month sentence.

At the Main Jail South also abbreviated as MJS, he had access to the phone from 9am-9pm except during meals, roll, and medication hand outs.

He said breakast is at 2am and staying in bunk beds with at least 60 other guys in a barrack. The max capacity is 647 at MJS.

We did not know this at the time, but what every money the person has on them at the time they are booked to serve their sentence will counts towards their books/ commissary account.

Day one

Leave a comment